pamplemousse

I didn’t realize until today that I am very much not alone in my love for pamplemousse. Not the actual fruit- although grapefruits can be very tasty. I’m talking about the word itself.

I’ll give you an idea of the kind of widespread affection my word crush is receiving. Today, I found it on Molly Wizenberg’s blog Orangette; her inspiration came from a cocktail by that name at The Walrus and The Carpenter; heaps of restaurants have not just listed pamplemousse on their menus but have taken it as a name; everybody’s favorite Urban Dictionary has taken the liberty of listing it as an anatomy reference (I’ll let you guess what it is); and there’s a really great musical duo using a slightly butchered version of the word at www.pomplamoose.com and here on YouTube.

Pamplemousse might well be the best word in the French language. The only other competitor that comes to mind at the moment is aubergine, and it might only sound cool because the English equivalent eggplant is so lame.

As the glad recipient of two garden fresh grapefruits this week, I find it only fitting to throw together a little grapefruit vinaigrette today in honor of my belovèd pamplemousse. I might even chop a few grapefruit segments to add to my salad.

Pamplemousse Vinaigrette

A classic vinaigrette, this has a fresh acidity and tang to it owing to the grapefruit juice. It should do a nice job brightening up a winter salad. It would also be delicious poured over some blanched, chilled asparagus, if you’re lucky enough to have them around this early in the year.

2 ounces grapefruit juice, from about half of one medium grapefruit
1 ounce champagne or white wine vinegar
1 ounce extra virgin olive oil
1 tablespoon dijon mustard
1 tablespoon honey
½ teaspoon kosher salt
½ teaspoon freshly chopped or dried basil

Combine all ingredients in a small mason jar or other such airtight container. Shake vigorously. Serve straightaway or store in the refrigerator for up to one week.

One Comment

  1. kelli
    Posted February 18, 2011 at 4:32 pm | Permalink

    i love pomplamoose! i had a hard time finding them on pandora because i didnt realize they spelled their name wrong. youtube didnt mind me searching pamplemousse 🙂


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

