apple slaw

I am one of the many who have had always had a little trouble with mayonnaise. As a relic of my past, it has been permitted to dwell in my fridge but has never made it fully into my heart. Given my slight aversion to mayo, it naturally follows that I’ve spent most of my life repulsed by coleslaw, which is, in its most primitive form, sort of like mayo-cabbage soup.

My feelings for mayo, though, started to shift a handful of years ago, due to a heavy presence of aioli in many of the restaurants where I worked. Mayonnaise, in its original form, I came to find, was very unlike the gelatinous substance hidden behind the Best Foods label, and rather like an appropriate condiment for skillfully prepared foods. When Molly Wizenberg published an article on the subject along with her favorite mayonnaise recipe in the April 2008 issue of Bon Appetit, I accepted her challenge and tried making my own homemade mayonnaise. She was right: it was delightfully simple and fun to have around.

Later that year, my mom proposed adding an apple cole slaw to our Thanksgiving table, and I acquiesced, though still with slight trepidation. Her revamped slaw surprised me by being tangy and crisp, with the right amount of vinegar to combat some of the fatty, rich flavors of the Thanksgiving meal. It also contained less mayonnaise than so many of the slaw recipes of my childhood- just enough to add a touch of creaminess.

This apple slaw is a tribute to my mother’s, rediscovered just in time for summer barbeques, a perfect companion for grilled chicken and corn on the cob.

Apple Slaw

The idea with all of the slicing you’ll find below is to achieve a uniform texture without chopping everything to smithereens. Slightly more time consuming than the food processor approach, it is, in my opinion, worth the effort. I once overheard a chef explaining that proper slicing meant only as much exactness as nature would allow. His principle applies here.

For the slaw:
2 small granny smith apples, skin on, sliced into matchsticks
2 small red delicious apples, skin on, sliced into matchsticks
3 celery ribs, sliced in long thin strips, then quartered
½ of one green cabbage, thinly sliced
¼ of one red cabbage, thinly sliced
½ of one red onion, sliced paper thin
½ bunch of cilantro, chopped

For the dressing:
2 teaspoons salt
½ cup apple cider vinegar
¼ cup mayonnaise
¼ cup sour cream
¼ cup chunky bleu cheese dressing (Litehouse is my go-to)
3 tablespoons honey
fresh ground pepper to taste

First, make the slaw by tossing all ingredients together in a large bowl. Then, combine all dressing ingredients in a mason jar or other such shakeable container. Shake vigorously until blended. Pour over slaw and toss to combine. Cover and chill for one half hour before serving.

2 Comments

  1. Topher Webber
    Posted February 6, 2011 at 8:57 pm | Permalink

    More entires, please!

    • theamazingts
      Posted February 19, 2011 at 9:54 am | Permalink

      you got what you asked for sir…and more on the way this week!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

